Triangle of Interconnection

By: Devan Conness, Senior

Over the past four years at North Central, and especially these last few months, I’ve discovered the depth and beauty found in the interconnectedness of trust, surrender, and peace.
These words on their own stand in their own respective definitions, but when brought together they are dependent of each other. You can’t have one without the other.
Trust
“Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight” – Proverbs 3: 5-6
This trust is something that is done to the fullest: if you trust somebody to do something for you that means that you aren’t going to do it yourself. You let them because you know they will, and many times they might actually do it better than you. This is the case for God, we know that to always be true. Oftentimes it is trusting in the times of waiting . . . trusting that He is doing something—working FOR YOU.
God keeps proving Himself time and time again in my life, and I am sure He is in yours as well. When I trust in Him, the outcome is so much greater than what I could have done myself.
When we trust in Him, we surrender the weight of our stress and worries and plans over to Him. It is no longer our responsibility, nor was it ever meant to be.
So trusting in Him allows for a complete surrender of your worries. A life without worries is a life filled with peace and joy.
Surrender
When your heart is truly aligned with His, when you are trusting in Him, when you have no worries, well, that’s truly when the magic happens.
That’s when things get beautiful.
His wants become your wants.You start to surrender your heart; you start to surrender your life to God.
Peace
I want you to imagine literally not worrying about your life: broken friendship, or what you are doing this summer, your next final, or meeting your parent’s expectations . . . whatever it may be.
Because trusting and surrendering to God means that you are actively allowing God to take control of your life. And although there are always going to be hard things to go through in this life, with the peace of God’s guidance it a whole lot easier.
Think of those moments when you are on the highest of highs with God: the spirit is moving and you can’t contain your joy. I have found through my time as a Christian that surrendering my life—literally my life—over to God brings me the greatest joy I have ever felt. This also comes with an equally as powerful dose of peace. There is NOTHING and I literally mean NOTHING that God cannot do in and through us. I am continually reminded and challenged by this.
My constant prayer this year has been one of surrender: “Lord, I am your servant, do with me as You wish, because I do not want to live for me or for this Earth, but only for You.”
                      .    .    .
For those of you who don’t know, I have accepted God’s call to apply for the Peace Corps. This means I could be almost 4,000 miles away in a remote community in South America for over 2 years, serving its people. Oftentimes, I find myself completely daunted by this thought, and I find that the bigger the work God has for you, the bigger the temptation.
I’ve struggled with feelings of inadequacy, feelings of doubt, fear, and more.
  • How can I communicate with a community of people on a daily basis in a language that I am not even fluent in?
  • How can I leave my family for two years?
  • How can I leave my friends for two years at a time in life when everything is changing and new and exciting? I want to be there for it all.
  • How can I purposefully put myself in an uncomfortable situation, eventually become comfortable, and then purposefully rip myself out of that situation only to return to an uncomfortable place that was once comfortable to me.
But then I think of God. And how trusting and surrendering to Him is not always going to be easy or “ideal”. But I can tell you it is definitely worth it.
One of my favorite verses is Romans 8:18-19, “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. 19 For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed.” The joy and peace that I find when following His path for me is incredible. And I only know that the more I surrender, the more peace and joy I feel.
There is nothing more that I want in life than to serve Him. And if He has called me to do this, then I want to be all in. God equips the called… and He has prepared me “And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?” (Ester 4:14)
It is by complete trust in God that we can fully surrender our lives to Him, and by fully surrendering our lives we have only to live in peace.
Keep relying on Him more and more, because from my experience, it just keeps getting better and better.
“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the Lord.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
    come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
    without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
    so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
    It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
    and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.
–Isaiah 55:8-11
Leave a Reply

