Advent Devotional: Day 12

By: Karli Saner, Assistant Director of Ministry and Service


Scripture: Psalm 146:5-10

Theme: #Hope


rose1

Sometimes I feel like a young rose, eager to bloom and when I do,

a frost comes.

And now, I am not sure if I am the rose, the frost,

the frost or the passerby,

but I am sure I have been one or all of those things at some time or another.

I am unsure of who or what I am,

but You are a fresh lake water, current and full of life.

I long to be a rose on Your banks, eager to bloom and when I do,

the sun and You greet me.

You say, I have waited for you.

And, then, You bless me.

You are sure of who I am, even when I am weak in myself,

limp and frosted over.

I am the oppressed.

I am the hungry.

I am the prisoner.

I am the blind.

I am the weary.

I am the orphan and the widow.

I am Jacob, and I am sure of who You are.

You, my Lord, are hope.


Prayer

There are days when all that keeps me praying is the decision to put my hope, my trust, in you, O God. To trust that You are still in charge, that You are watching over my way, that You care about truth even when the liars seem so strong. So, for today, I choose to put my hope in your power to create new beginnings where none seem possible; I choose to trust you will meet me on the bank of Your living water. I wait for You. You, my God, are my only hope.

Leave a Reply

