Advent Devotional: Day 15

By: Davonte Sanders-Funches, Class of 2018


Scripture: Psalm 42

Theme: #Hope


When I first stepped foot on North Central’s campus to begin my freshman year, I was confident that I was strong physically, mentally, and spiritually. I had no doubt in my abilities to overcome any trial that would arise. I grew up in a church that felt very much like family. They instilled great principles within me and helped me understand the principles of Christ. When my world turned upside-down, however, I realized that the Christ-like principles I learned were not aligning with how I was living the last few months. I felt discouraged.

Psalms 42 is a song detailing the awesomeness of God, how enemies will mock and intimidate, yet we should cling to faith in God despite what may come against us. This passage resembles hope because twice enemies have doubted asking, “Where is your God now?” but twice the narrator claims to put hope in God. This signifies that God is the only way whether there seems to be a clear path or not. This passage has reminded me to keep faith and hope even when the things of this world come against me. Knowing the battle is already won. Don’t be discouraged!


Prayer

Precious Lord, take my hand, lead me on, let me stand, I am tired, I am weak, I am worn; though the storm, through the night, lead me on to the light: Take my hand, precious Lord, lead me home. (Thomas Dorsey, 1932)

Leave a Reply

