Advent Devotional: Day 18

By: Neil Nicholson, Associate Professor of Mathematics


Scripture: Galatians 4:1-7

Theme: #Heir


I have found myself anxious and stressed over the last year. Why? My wife and I are on the path to parenthood, but I have not found myself excited about it. I do not know what to expect, and I have found myself thinking, “I like my life the way it’s been. I do my thing, get things done, live day-to-day. How is having a baby going to make my life any better?”

It is in verse 6 that I find peace and comfort, though. In my heart is his spirit, and in that I must trust. In the unknown of my future, there is a plan for me to become closer to God through his plans—my future child.  And for that I pray: may the hearts of the nervous, the worried, the anxious, the confused, and the restless trust in finding peace in the unknown; confident that light appears not just from dark but also through fog and clouds.


Prayer

Loving Father, may the hearts of the nervous, the worried, the anxious, the confused, and the restless trust in finding peace in the unknown; confident that light appears not just from dark but also through fog and clouds. May our hearts be untroubled in troubling times. Amen.

Leave a Reply

