Advent Devotional: Day 20

By: Julie Carballo, Director of First Generation Programs and Teach First


Scripture: 1 Samuel 2:1-10

Theme: #Rejoice


In this scripture, Hannah prays,

My heart rejoices in the LORD!

The LORD has made me strong.

When times are difficult for us personally or in our family or community, it can be human nature to focus on the sorrow, pain or situations that aren’t going as we had hoped or planned.  This verse reminds us to instead focus our hearts and minds on the blessings in our lives and the many reasons for rejoicing—the first of which is that we are heirs to the eternal kingdom.   By doing this, we can spread joy and strength to those with whom we share this earthly journey.  Shout with joy to the Rock who saves us.


Prayer

Lord, let me rejoice and worship you- the King who is to come.  Help me to feel your strength and to remember that I am stronger than I think I am because you are always by my side and there is no rock like you.   Help me to remember that I am defined first and foremost by my relationship with you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

